Buying Drinks In A Restaurant
Restaurants currently can pour you a drink starting at 11.30 a.m. during the weekday and from 10.30 a.m. on Saturdays, Sundays, and state/federal holidays so you can drink your mimosa or Bloody Mary an hour early during brunch.
One of the most confusing set of laws for visitors to Utah, is our rules covering imbibing at a restaurant. Much of this stems from the various licenses the state allows restaurants to apply for. Most restaurants hold a full license, allowing them to serve all types of alcohol so long as the diner intends to dine.
Generally you will find your server merely asks you are you dining with us tonight after you sit down, and youre free to order a drink, while you peruse the menu if you indicate you will be also eating. Ordering just a small snack or nibble is fine too, but you must order at least one item of food from the menu. Its really not the big deal folks make it out to be, if you didnt know about the rule in advance, youd likely never encounter it.
Finally we have the much derided Zion Curtain a term referring to the divider, present in some restaurants, that separates bartenders and their preparation of drinks from customers. This law was actually updated in 2017 and most restaurants have now torn down the curtain. The caveat is that minors must be seated 10 feet from the bar area, this new buffer zone is playfully known as the Zion moat.
Alcohol Is Taxed A Lot But It Helps Pay The Bills
Utahns pay a lot for the alcohol they buy in state-run stores. Spirits and wine are marked up 88% on the wholesale cost, while heavy beer is marked up 66.5%.
While the DABC stores generate millions, more than half a billion last year, the agency does not keep all of the profits. After covering expenses and employee wages and benefits all net proceeds go to the state.
Most of the money funnels into a general fund to be used however the Legislature sees fit. The rest is divided among other programs, including the school lunch, underage-drinking prevention and liquor law enforcement.
Brown Bagging Is Allowed With Some Restrictions
Brown bagging, or bringing alcoholic beverages into an establishment, is generally prohibited, according to the DABC. However, there are some exceptions.
A person may bring a bottle of wine into a restaurant or a bar licensed by the DABC with approval from the business. The restaurant or bar can also charge a corkage fee for this service but is not required to do so.
Alcoholic beverages also can be taken and consumed in limousines and charter buses, with certain restrictions. And a person may brown-bag any type of alcohol to a private party.
You May Like: Stella Rosa Sugar Content
Utah State Liquor Laws Utahcom
- Packaged beer is also available at supermarkets, grocery and convenience stores. The maximum alcohol content is four percent by volume, or 3.2 percent by weight for beer sold in taverns, beer establishments, and stores. Packaged liquor, wine, and heavy beer “to go” are sold at state liquor stores throughout Utah.
Top 4 Wine Clubs That Ship To Utah
- Even though Utah maintains state laws that prohibit communities from enacting dry alcohol policies, shipping wine into Utah is actually a felony. Residents are permitted to bring up to two bottles of wine into the state from interstate travel, but if that quantity is
Don’t Miss: Make Glasses From Bottles
Homebrewing Is A Legal Hobby
Utahns can produce up to 100 gallons of beer, wine or hard cider annually, for every person who is 21 or older in a household.
With that much booze in the basement, youre likely to get invited to a lot of parties. But homebrewers and producers can carry only 72 ounces of beer or one liter of wine or hard cider outside their home at any one time.
But youd better stick to beer. Distilling liquor in your home is forbidden under federal law.
Whats The Deal With Wine Shipping Laws
Ever read about a wine and you cant find it anywhere? You might be getting subjected to archaic state laws. Find out whats happening with wine shipping and how this system is about to get upgraded.
How do you buy wine? It seems reasonable that if you like to shop online that you should be able to buy wine online too. Unfortunately, many state laws are archaic and align to the ideologies of Prohibition, which ended almost a century ago. To make matters worse, many of the restrictions hurt American wineries more than imports. Lets take a look at how wine shipping laws affect you and what you can do to help change the rules. Dont throw in the towel yet, theres hope!
You May Like: Safari Wine Tour In Malibu
Bringing Alcohol Into Utah
- No you can’t legally. Utah is a control state, and only the Utah Department of Alcoholic Beverage Control may lawfully import import alcoholic beverages into Utah. Private individuals may not lawfully import or transport them into the state. Under Utah law “alcoholic beverages” include all hard liquor, spirits, wine and beer.
The Specifics For Restaurants And Bars
- Alcoholic drinks in Utah cannot be purchased without food at a restaurant. This rule does not apply to breweries, bars, or taverns.
- You are only allowed to have one cocktail per person on the table at a time. Wine can be purchased by the bottle but pitchers of beer are not allowed.
- Utah Bartenders must use The Berg to measure out a precise 1.5 ounce shot of liquor. This makes for less potent cocktails than you might find in states where bartenders are allowed to free pour.
- Ski resorts, hotels, and airports have special exemptions from some of these laws.
- Restaurants and bars can only serve high-point beer in cans or bottles, not on draft.
Don’t Miss: Can Wine Be Shipped To North Carolina
Always Have Your Id For Alcohol Purchases
State liquor stores require all customers even those who obviously look old enough to buy alcohol to show a driver license or other valid ID before they can make a purchase.
A valid ID will be electronically scanned before you can enter a bar. It also will be checked in a restaurant or grocery store if you are buying alcohol.
The reason, of course, is to ensure that no one under age 21 is getting access to liquor. And businesses that get caught serving or selling to minors can face hefty fines and risk losing their state liquor license.
Can I See Your License
Restaurants, bars, and events in Park City carry a variety of different types of liquor licenses. Here is a quick list of where you can buy beer, wine, or cocktails.
- You can buy 5% alcohol by volume beer practically everywhere: grocery stores, gas stations, arenas, festivals, and events.
- An establishment with a Beer-only License may serve beer from 11:30 a.m. – 1:00 a.m.
- Venues with a Limited Service Liquor License may serve wine and beer from 11:30 a.m. – Midnight.
- Restaurants require patrons to order an appetizer or meal in addition to their beverages from 11:30 a.m. – Midnight.
- Clubs and bars may serve liquor, beer, and wine without selling food to patrons from 10:00 a.m. – 1:00 a.m.
Recommended Reading: Beer Bottle Glasses Diy
What The Hell Is The Zion Curtain
Technically, the Zion Curtain no longer exists. But many restaurants still adhere to this rule due to confusion about what has now been dubbed The Zion Moat. You may order your drink at a bar in a restaurant, and then see your tender move into the kitchen or behind an opaque surface to actually prepare the drink. Thats the Zion Curtain! An old law stated alcoholic beverages had to be prepared out of sight of other patrons. The practice still persists.
Utah Wine Online Delivery
- We are proud to remain a humble, independently owned operation dedicated to providing you the finest service and most exceptional products, all at the very best prices. We have one of the largest selections of Wine, Spirits, and Beer in the country. We have a large variety of Rare and Vintage Wines
Also Check: Homemade Wine Bottle Tiki Torch
V Get Legal Advice About Alcohol Laws In Utah
Utah alcohol laws are very complex. Laws are also confusing in other states. Lawyers spend years learning them. Never rely on this site. Nor on any other site.
And beware of the advice and beliefs of family and friends. Or of neighbors, co-workers, or others. Smile, thank them, and then ignore what they say.
Get all alcohol information and advice about Utah alcohol laws from an expert. Thats a lawyer holding a license licensed in the state.
Can You Buy Beer On Sunday In Salt Lake City
SALT LAKE CITYYou canbuybeerSunday
. In this manner, is alcohol sold in Utah on Sundays?
Packaged liquor, wine, and heavy beer “to go” are sold at state liquor stores throughout Utah. State liquor stores accept cash, check, and credit cards, and are closed on Sundays and holidays. Other package agencies are often located in hotels and resorts for customer convenience.
Furthermore, can you buy beer in Salt Lake City? Beer on tap, or draft beer as it is known in Salt Lake’s bars and restaurants is only 3.2%. You can also buy full-strength bottled beer at state liquor stores . You can purchase 3.2% beer at the grocery and convenience stores. Smoking is Not Allowed in Utah Bars and Restaurants.
In this manner, what time can you buy beer on Sunday in Utah?
Utah Liquor Laws
|Grocery/Liquor Store Sale Hours:|
|Monday to Saturday: 11:00am to 10:00pm||Sunday: Closed|
What time can you buy beer in Utah at a gas station?
You can buy 3.2% alcohol by weight beer practically everywhere: grocery stores, gas stations, arenas, festivals, and events. Establishment with a Beer-only License may serve 3.2% beer from 11:30 a.m. – 1:00 a.m. Venues with a Limited Service Liquor License may serve wine and beer over 3.2% from 11:30 a.m. – Midnight.
You May Like: How To Get Wine Out Of Clothes The Next Day
Yes You Can Get A Drink In Rural Utah Too
Regardless of whether or not you are in the city, you can find establishments to grab alcohol in the more rural areas of Utah as well. While it may not be as convenient to find alcohol in the farther reaches, it is available, and the same laws that apply in SLC apply there as well. These laws help regulate price, which means your favorite bottle will cost the same regardless of the liquor store no additional markup beyond statute at remote retail outposts or resort towns. Restaurants and bars, of course, can set their own price for drinks.
Each of Utahs five national parks has a liquor store nearby, and bars and restaurants are easy to find, especially in Springdale near Zion or Moab near Arches and Canyonlands. Rules around alcohol consumption vary from park to park, so depending on which park you are visiting, you should familiarize yourself with them.
Whether youre in Salt Lake City or Zion National Park, finding a place to conveniently grab a drink has become much easier. Theres no need to worry about the lack of adult beverages infringing on your ski vacation or relaxation after a long day at the tradeshow. So now that you know much of what you need to know about getting a drink in Utah, forget about those old rules and raise a glass or two on your next visit.
Welcome to the 5%: New Liquor Laws Support Utah’s Vibrant Craft Brew Scene
Northern, Food & Drink, Support Local, Community
Why There Are Signs That Say This Is A Bar
How can you tell the difference between a restaurant and a bar in Utah?
Look for the quirky sign that says This is a bar and No one under 21 is allowed. These signs, under state law, must be at least 8.5 inches long and 11 inches wide and be posted in a conspicuous place at the entrance.
The signs became mandatory as part of a massive liquor-reform law passed in 2017 and have been an annoyance for owners, confusing to diners and the butt of jokes on social media.
But when you see one, you know that you can get a drink without having to also order food like the restaurant requirement mentioned above.
You May Like: Keto Friendly Wine List
Liquor Stores Sell All Spirits And Wine But Only Higher Alcohol Beer
The Utah Department of Alcoholic Beverage Control, or DABC, is the state agency that controls liquor sales and licensing. The agency operates 50-plus retail stores, mostly in larger urban areas. It also signs contracts with private individuals and companies to run smaller stores or package agencies in rural areas, ski resorts, hotels and sports arenas.
Liquor stores are the only places consumers can buy vodka, whiskey, rum and other distilled spirits. They also are the only places to buy wine or beer that is higher than 5% ABV. The one exception? Licensed distilleries in Utah are allowed to sell their products to consumers directly.
Historically, state stores have not refrigerated the beer but that started to change earlier this year, when the state opened its first liquor store with cold beer.
Liquor stores are open Monday through Saturday, typically from 11 a.m. to 7 p.m. although there are a few that stay open until 10 p.m. Liquor stores are always closed on Sunday and all state and federal holidays, so plan accordingly, especially around Thanksgiving and Christmas, when the lines are often long.
Is This A Control State For Wine
No license required to sell to licensed wholesalers
How much does the license cost?
Do I need to have money held in bond?
Is there a representative license?
Do I need to register products first?
Do I need to Post Prices?
Do I need to file my Distributor Agreements with the state?
Do I need to file my Territory Assignments with the state?
Are there rules on the exclusivity of territory or brand assignments?
Recommended Reading: How To Get Wine Out Of White Shirt
What Are The Top Sellers At Utahs State Run
Liquor for sale at the Utah State Liquor Store in Bountiful, Friday, April 6, 2012.
From cheap vodka and boxed wine to more expensive craft beer and high-end Champagne, the top-selling items at Utahs state-run liquor stores were all over the price and taste map in fiscal 2018.
Barton Vodka which costs $11 for a 750 ml bottle led all items with sales topping $3.1 million, according to the 2018 Year in Retail report issued by the Utah Department of Alcoholic Beverage Control.
Conversely, Veuve Clicquot Brut Yellow Label, a celebrated Champagne that typically costs $57 a bottle, jumped seven spots to become Utahs top-selling wine with sales above $1 million.
Several factors may have played into the jump, said DABC spokesman Terry Wood. That particular Veuve Clicquot variety in a 750 ml bottle went on sale three times during the year including December, when its a popular item for New Years Eve celebrations.
It has a well-known name in the industry, he said, and people realized that was a decent price for a good wine.
In recent years, there also has been a spike in sparkling wine sales, he said, which may also have played a factor.
The top-selling beers at Utah liquor stores which have a higher alcohol content than the 3.2 brews sold in grocery and convenience stores also were a mixed bag, according to the report, a summary of sales during the 12 months that ended June 30.
A sale label on product at Utah state liquor store in Murray, Wednesday, July 18, 2018.
Can I Drink In Public
Yes and no, but mostly no. State law prohibits consuming liquor in a public building, park, stadium or on a public bus. A person may not be intoxicated in a public place to the degree that they present a danger to themselves or anyone else. Open containers of alcohol are not allowed in motor vehicles. And as a general rule, a person may not bring an alcoholic beverage onto the premises of an establishment that is open to the public. This means you wont find anything except beer at major sporting events and most outdoor events.
Also Check: Stella Rosa Blueberry Wine Alcohol Content
What If I Want To Serve Wine Or Liquor At A Private Event In Utah
Utahs state liquor and wine stores have an excellent selection of wines, spirits, and beers on hand. The DABC keeps their stores well-stock. However, if you want a product that the organization doesnt normally carry, you may need to special order it in advance. The DABC will order a product from any legal source and foreign products must be available through a US importer.
A Guide To Drinking In Utah
Think you cant enjoy après ski in Utah? Think again.
While there are some restrictions on the consumption of alcohol in the State, playing by the rules doesnt mean you cant have fun! Understanding Utahs drinking laws will help ease the headache when it comes to buying, ordering and consuming alcohol after a day on the slopes we cant speak for the next morning though.
Follow these five tips to enjoying a taste of Utahn hospitality
- Wine, full strength beer and liquor for consumption in your hotel room can only be purchased from a state-run store. These have limited openings and are closed on Sundays and holidays, so be sure to plan your shopping accordingly.
- Restaurants are often only licensed to serve alcohol with food on the table. Something small like chips and dip is good enough to get the Corona Ritas rolling.
- Clubs/ bars are able to sell alcoholic beverages with or without food from 10:00 a.m. to 1:00 a.m. Plenty of time to kick that après booty into action.
- Beer on tap is always 3.2% by weight. If youre looking for full strength beer order something bottled. The Devastator Double Block Lager by Wasatch Brewery should raise the hair on your arms.
- Cocktails can only contain 1.5 fl oz of a primary liquor, and secondary alcohol flavourings cannot exceed 2.5 fl oz of total booze. All too confusing? Let the talented bartenders work their mixing magic. Youll be pleasantly surprised with what they can create under these restrictions.
You May Like: Wine Safari Malibu Ca