How To Ship Wine: General Overview
First of all, the most important thing to keep in mind is that its illegal for one individual to ship any amount of wine to another person through the mail in the United States, regardless of where you live or whether you try the U.S. Postal Service, UPS, or FedEx.
That doesnt mean you cant send wine to someone but you cant just stuff it in a box and slap a few stamps on it. Unless youre willing to take a big risk and break the law, to ship wine you need to buy it from a company whos certified to deliver it. The good news is, plenty of companies are licensed to ship wine to most states.
Depending on the quantity youre sending and where its going, there could be additional hurdles to overcome. For instance, if you want to send wine to a friend in Oklahoma, youre out of luck: The Sooner State doesnt allow it, and you might be looking at a felony if you get caught trying.
While the law is mostly the same in Delaware, theres one important loophole: If youre a resident of Delaware and youre visiting a winery in a different state, you can send yourself back a few bottles.
The strictest laws, by far, are found in Utah, Oklahoma, Mississippi, Alabama, Kentucky, and Delaware. Pay particularly close attention to the rules if youre sending wine to those states. An updated master list of all the state law nuances can be found by searching the alcohol statutes over at The National Conference of State Legislatures website.
What Sales Tax Rates Are Applied To Dtc Shipments In Kentucky
Kentucky imposes a sales tax on all sales of wine into the state at a rate of 6%. In addition, Kentucky imposes a 10% “Wholesale Sales Tax” on DtC shipments of wine, which should be assessed against the wholesale price of the wines and can be collected from consumers like a sales tax but is remitted separately from the state’s sales tax. Small Farm Wineries are exempted from the Wholesale Sales Tax.
Where Do We Ship
We ship wine to most states, though there are still some states that prohibit retailers from shipping wine in their state. We operate multiple warehouses around the country to comply with state laws. To determine if Wine.com ships to your state, use the drop-down menu at the top of the page to select your state. This will ensure you see correct inventory and pricing for your area. If we cannot ship to your state, you will see that on the red bar at the top of the page alerting you that your state prohibits delivery of wine from out-of-state retailers. We do, however, ship our non-wine items to all 50 states, including non-wine gift baskets, accessories and glassware.
You May Like: How Much Does Stella Rose Wine Cost
What Excise Tax Rates Are Applied To Dtc Shipments In Minnesota
DtC shippers are not obligated to remit Minnesota excise tax. Wine sold through the state’s three-tier market, though, is taxed at a rate of $0.30 per gallon on wines with an ABV of 14% or less, $0.95 per gallon on wines with an ABV from 14%-21%, and $1.82 on all sparkling wines and still wines with an ABV greater than 21%.
These Wine Of The Month Clubs Ship Wine To Nebraska
Our wine of the month club ratings system looks at quality-to-price ratio, shipping costs, and unique wine club features. While not all wine clubs can send wine to all states, all of these wine subscriptions and wine club giftscan be shipped to Nebraska. We do our best to make sure this list is accurate, but as shipping laws change, so do the shipping policies of subscription services. Get more info about NE wine delivery rules and regulations.
FYI: I find great wine deals so you dont have to. To keep me on the hunt, I earn a commission when you buy wine based on my recommendations.
You May Like: Where To Find Marsala Wine At Kroger
Reciprocal Retailer Dtc States
Beyond the 10 license states and D.C., there are currently two states that operate under what is known as reciprocity rules. These states are California and New Mexico, which permit shipments of wine only.
These two reciprocity states allow out-of-state retailers to sell directly to their residents only if those out-of-state retailers are located in a state that allows out-of-state retailers to sell directly to their residents without any licensing, tax or other regulatory burdens. Put more simply, the rules in state B must be as free and open for retailer DtC sales as the rules in state A for a retailer shipping from state B to sell to a resident of state A. They may also require a specific letter of agreement between the two states, indicating that there are no license or tax requirements. Currently, only California and New Mexico have such an agreement.
How To Ship Alcohol To Another State
When your booze crosses state borders, “you need to consider the laws for both the shipping state and the receiving state,” says Weinberg. So, for example, if you’d like to send a bottle of wine from a visit along Pennsylvania’s wine trail to a relative in Mississippi, don’t waste your time or your money. While it’s perfectly legal to mail wine from this northern state, it’s also perfectly illegal to receive wine shipments in Mississippi. In other words, Mississippi is not a reciprocal state, a state in which you can receive alcohol shipments from other states or countries, explains Lekkala. You can read more about reciprocal states and other out-of-state shipment rules here.
Of course, there’s an easy way around these convoluted laws, too. Mostthough not allalcohol that can be purchased in one state can be found somewhere in another, so if you’re dying to ship your brother a new brew, hit the web first to see if you can find a retailer in his state that carries the beverage, recommends Lekkala. It will be much easier to provide a credit card number over the phone than try to send that brew between states. “Even state-controlled stores realize they’re losing business to other states and improving the range of inventories they’re carrying,” Lekkala says.
Read Also: Selling Vintage Wine
Selecting A Delivery Date
We offer date-specific deliveries for most items purchased. A calendar with all available delivery dates will be presented to you after you enter your shipping address. You can select a delivery date up to six months out by clicking on the calendar arrow to move forward months. Note that we cannot select a specific block of time for your delivery, only a specific date. The carrier will make three delivery attempts before the item is returned to our warehouse.
Digital Wine Routes Revisited
When all is said and done, direct shipping regulation is to remain subject to state legislation. Some progress has been made to allow online retailers and wineries to ship without too much of a hassle. The important thing is that the wine shipping regulations are improving across the board.
You might be required to conduct some research and most online wine clubs and shops provide detailed information about their wine shipping rules. So theres no need to worry your wine collection is in jeopardy.
Don’t Miss: Beer Bottles Into Cups
Shipping Beer Liquor And Wine With Ups
UPS allows direct-to-consumer alcohol shipment, with a number of strict rules. You can find all the UPS rules and regulations on the UPS Wine & Alcoholic Beverage Program page.
UPS alcohol shipment rules include:
- You have a UPS account number
- You have signed an alcohol shipping agreement contact with UPS
- You have a federal license to ship alcohol
- You have the correct permits to ship alcohol in the states your sending to
- You must follow the guidelines set in both the sending and receivers state
- You must use inner packaging of EPS foam or molded fiber tray
- You must package the alcohol in the center of the shipment, away from the packages sides
- Your package must be deemed sturdy by UPS
- You must clearly label the shipment and meet UPS, origin state, and destination state guidelines
- You must clearly label the package as containing alcohol
- You must receive a signature upon delivery from an adult that is 21 or older
Do Any Volume Limits Apply To Dtc Shipments In Tennessee
Wineries producing less than 270,000 liters per year may ship up to 54 liters in total per individual per year in Tennessee. Larger-scale wineries are limited to shipping no more than 27 liters in total per individual per year. All wineries are also limited to no more than nine liters per individual per month.
Recommended Reading: Boonie Doon Winery
How Much Does A Dtc Shipping License Cost In Illinois
An Illinois Winery Shipper’s License costs vary depending on the size of the winery applying. A class 1 license, for wineries producing less than 250,000 gallons per year, with an initial cost of $350, and $250 for renewals a class 2, for wineries producing 250 to 500,000 gallons per year, with a $1,000 initial cost, and $750 renewal cost and a class 3, for wineries producing more than 500,000 gallons per year, with a $1,500 initial cost, and a $1200 renewal cost.
How Much Does A Dtc Shipping License Cost In New Jersey
The license fee in New Jersey varies depending on the shipper’s annual production: $63 for producing less than 1,000 gallons per year $125 for 1-2,500 gallons $250 for 2.5-30,000 gallons $375 for 30-50,000 gallons $938 for 50-250,000 gallons. In addition, applicants must hold a bond guaranteeing future tax payments.
Read Also: Wine With Lowest Calories
Tax And Compliance For Dtc Retailers
Retailers must also follow specific tax rules. Every state that allows retailer DtC shipping, except for Alaska and D.C., require the seller to collect and remit both excise taxes and sales taxes for the state they ship into. Most states also require a regular report from the retailer detailing the DtC sales they have made, though this is often coupled with an excise tax return.
While retailers should already have a handle on managing sales taxes for sales made at their licensed premises, once they begin engaging with DtC shipping they will be faced with a much bigger burden handling sales taxes in all the states they ship into. This can get complicated, because the correct sales tax rate is based on the customers exact deliver-to address, which can be some combination of state, county, city, and special district rates. Some states do make it easy by having a single state-wide sales tax rate, but there are places where the tax rate can be different depending on what side of the street a shipment goes to.
This can make the process of collecting and remitting tax very difficult depending on the state. Tax returns that are still reliant on paper forms or more manual filings processes can also make things difficult for a retailer now dealing with tax policies in several states at once. More states are moving toward simplified online filings, but properly collecting and remitting sales tax remains a major burden for DtC alcohol shippers.
How To Pack Liquids For Shipping
Alcoholic beverages often come in glass bottles which are significantly more delicate than their plastic counterparts. For this reason, you need to be especially careful when you are shipping glass wine bottles, beer bottles, or liquor bottles, or shipping liquids in other delicate containers.
To safely ship alcoholic beverages, you should use strong cardboard boxes that have trays inside of them that provide sections for each bottle.
This will keep the bottles separate and prevent them from smashing into one another. You can also wrap the bottles in bubble wrap for additional safety. You may want to do this if you are shipping very expensive wine.
After that, you can put packing peanuts into the box and then close the top of the box and tape it shut. Then carefully stack the boxes into the truck.
You May Like: How Many Carbs In Wine
Shipping Insurance For Wine
Cabrella offers third party shipping insurance for items including wine and other alcohols. Purchasing shipping insurance for wine can help shipment delays, damages, or breakages along the way. Remember, things like temperature fluctuations and pressure changes can affect the quality of a bottle of wine. Purchasing shipping insurance helps protect your investment and can give the customer peace of mind when it comes to ensuring their product.
Cabrella can help get wine to its final destination through tracking analytics, partnerships with domestic and international carriers, and transparent pricing. Users can create a shipment on Cabrella’s easy to use app, compare carrier rates, and print shipping labels all in one place. Cabrella allows users to track their shipments using state of the art tracking technology to see where there may be delays or risks along the way. Finally, Cabrella can deliver your shipment where it needs to go through delivery confirmations.
Cabrella also offers expert packing tips and tricks for getting your shipment ready to go. Cabrella can walk you through the requirements that specific carriers have for liquids and alcoholic items in a shipment that might vary from carrier to carrier.
Do Any Volume Limits Apply To Dtc Shipments In New Hampshire
Wine shippers are limited by New Hampshire to shipping no more than 12 cases per individual per year. Further, if a shipper ships more than 600 liters of any one label per year, they must offer to sell a matching amount at the lowest selling price to the New Hampshire LCC for wholesale distribution.
Don’t Miss: Does Stella Rosa Wine Have Alcohol
Can You Ship Wine To California
For retailers and non-retailers alike, making sense of shipping regulations when it comes to shipping alcohol in the United States can be challenging. Each state not only creates its own regulations regarding alcohol shipments, but individual counties within that state may also have fashioned their own rules. So, the question of the day is: can you ship wine to California?
The short answer is, yes, you can. Individuals or retailers with the proper licensing can ship alcohol to California, or from California to different states. Where you live, where and who you are sending to, and how much wine you want to ship are all questions that should be asked before you take your package to the nearest post office.
Can I ship wine to California? Individuals without the proper licenses are not allowed to send alcohol. USPS prohibits the shipping of alcohol by individuals. People who want to ship wine through FedEx or UPS can do so, but have to have the right license and sign an agreement with their chosen shipping carrier. This typically means you must be a commercial entity. At the other end of the shipment, an adult over the age of 21 must sign for the package to obtain it legally.
States that have banned the shipping of alcohol are:
- Rhode Island
How To Ship Alcohol To A Friend
Are you curious about how to ship alcohol to a friend? Itâs doable as long as you follow all spirits shipping regulations. Here are the basics of sending a drink to your friend:
- Familiarize yourself with state laws. Because alcohol is an age-restricted substance, itâs more heavily regulated than most products. Your shipmentâs packaging, delivery, and destination details should conform to the laws of your state and that of your recipient.
- Choose a carrier from popular eCommerce shipping companies. FedEx and UPS both offer different advantages depending on your needs. UPS is great for ground shipping and FedEx has advantages for overnight air or international shipping. You canât ship alcohol via USPS because they expressly prohibit it in their policies.
- Package it well. Any box containing an alcoholic beverage should be packaged and sealed tightly. After putting the beverage in a polystyrene foam container, you can line your cardboard box with plastic film. This prevents the cardboard from liquid damage in the unlikely event of spillage. Double check that everything fits well and that the box doesnât have too much empty space. Double seal the box with tape and you can ship with confidence.
You May Like: Where To Buy Troublemaker Wine
What Are The Different Shipping Methods
The available options for shipping are: Overnight, 2-Day Air and Ground. In most cases we are shipping within the ship to state, which allows Ground shipping orders to deliver in one to two business days. Overnight and 2-Day Air delivers Monday-Friday only. Ground service includes delivery through Saturday.
How To Ship Wine
Wine shipping is something that many companies desperately want to do. This is especially true for wineries and vineyards who produce large quantities of wine. If you have been trying to figure out how to ship a bottle of wine, or a large quantity of it, then the very first thing that you need to do is to obtain a license to ship it. If you do not have a license, then it is illegal, no matter what state you are in.
After that, you will need to create a special contract with UPS or FedEx. Next, you will have to figure out exactly where you can ship wine. When you know which places you can ship it to, then you can use UPS Freight or FedEx Freight to ship it to its destination.
Recommended Reading: Wine Safari Napa
When Reviewing This Information Keep The Following In Mind:
- The rules weve compiled here only reflect regulations that a state would impose on a wine supplier located in a different state, looking to enter a new market. They do not include rules on setting up a production plant, or for federal or home-state compliance.
- This is not a definitive or complete guide. It should be used only as a starting place, to help lead you in the right direction as you expand your distribution. Do not take this as the final word on any regulatory issue.
- When you actually approach selling in a new state, be sure to consult with someone who can properly interpret how the rules apply to your individual circumstances: your compliance team, your legal counsel or even another winery located in that state.
And dont forget that Sovos ShipCompliant offers several tools to help you in this process, with a cloud-based, easy-to-use platform for your licensing, product registration, product management and state filing needs. Sovos provides complete and up-to-date state rules guidance in all ShipCompliant products. You can request a demo anytime.